Erin’s 30th Birthday Trip- Part One.

So here it is- the start of 9 days of vacation.  Missed connections, lost luggage, mechanical trouble on planes, sunny weather, cloudy weather, fantastic food, beer filled boots, insects, crazy hills, cemeteries, national parks, voodoo temples…..  are you ready to get started?

February 5th.  330 am.  The start of a VERY long day.

1st annoying thing that happened- I stood in line for 30 minutes in the wrong line.  How did that happen you ask?  Well I was flying with United Airlines, BUT it was on an Air Canada jet.  I stood in the United line.  WRONG!  When I went to the Air Canada line…it was completely empty.  F.

2nd annoying thing that happened- So I’m on the plane now, and I have no one next to me (yay!).  Just wait a sec, that’s not the annoying part- we take off, and it was the worst friggen take off ever.  The plane was for real tilting back and forth and side to side.  At first I thought it was just me thinking this was not normal, but when the guy across the row from me looked over and gave me a shocked look, I knew it wasn’t ok.  About half an hour into our flight (when the seatbelt sign still hadn’t been turned off) the pilot came on and said we’re having mechanical issues and we’re heading back to Toronto.  F. 

A plane similar to mine.

We later were told there was something wrong with our door, which explained the turbulent flight.

3rd annoying thing that happened- this first flight was not a direct flight to New Orleans.  I had a stop over in Chicago first.  BUT by having us turn around, and waiting for our luggage to be unloaded, then reloaded onto a new plane, and by starting our hour long flight again….. I knew my connection was going to be tight.  While on that second flight they told us that United staff would be waiting at the gate to tell us about our connections.  The guy that helped me when I got off said,

“Run.  Your flight is leaving right now.” 

Awesome.  So I ran like a madwoman 3 terminals over to find out that my flight left 20 minutes ago.  Sigh.

I headed to the first United counter I found, and told the lady my dilemma.  First she made it seem like I missed the flight because I was just late (even though I told her the plane had to turn around), then she said the next flight to New Orleans was in 10 hours.  10 hours!!!  Anywho, she told me to go to the actual customer service counter.  To make a long story short, they ended up putting me on a different airline completely and I was on another flight in 4 hours.

When I finally got to New Orleans, I was greeted by Sandra who leied me with Mardi Gras beads! 🙂  The party animals that we are decided just to grab pizza, play Wii and have an early night in.  And that was alright by me!

Part One is just my first day of flying, and there really aren’t any pictures that I took during my stupid first day.  I will say this though, while in New Orleans Sandra and I did a Monday Meals which I hope to post later today, AND the next post after that will be the remainder of my journey in New Orleans (or NOLA as it is also called). 

See ya later Alligator!

1 Comment

Filed under Trips

One response to “Erin’s 30th Birthday Trip- Part One.

  1. Pingback: Birthday Trip- Part 3! “San Francisco Bai” | blog, shmog.

Leave a Reply

