MondayMeals- Shepard’s Pie

So good!

Monday Meals!  Monday Meals!

So last week I finally got to try the recipe I’ve been wanting to do for a while- Shepard’s Pie. 

I was excited to try this one, not only because it is so yummy, but because I would also get to kill 2 birds with one stone.  1. I’ve never made Shepard’s pie before, and 2. I’ve never made mashed potatoes before!  For those of you who may not know (for whatever reason), Shepard’s pie is a 3 layer masterpiece- bottom layer of beef, then veggies, then mashed potatoes.  Mmmmm!

This week, I don’t think I’ll go through the whole recipe- you can look at it yourself if you click here!  BUT I will say this- here are a couple of things to be aware of when making this meal.

1.  I didn’t make enough mashed potatoes.  I mean I could have just used the first round, and it would have looked budget, but still tasted good.  I just didn’t want my first Shepard’s pie to go out like that though.  So after I had piled all the beef, then corn, then the potatoes I had into the dish, I left it to sit for like 30 minutes while I again, boiled water, then cooked the potatoes, then mashed them.  Ugh.  Was it worth it?  YES!  the 2nd round of potatoes were much mashier, and creamier, and better all together. (the first round were more clumpy than anything, but blended in none the less.)

2.  The recipe lied about the number of potatoes needed to make this pie. (See number 1.)

3.  Guinness tastes sooooooooooooooooooo much better when it is cooked with, rather than drinking it straight!  Ahhhhhhhhhh!  I know!  I’m Irish, but I just don’t like to drink the stuff.  Truth be told, when I visited the Guinness brewery, I wasted my whole glass of Guinness.  Didn’t really drink more than one sip!  Anywho, back to the pie- you’re probably thinking, Erin- Guinness isn’t even on the list of ingredients!  No, it’s not you’re right!  BUT I always read the suggestions or comments to the recipes, and in this case someone suggested using Guinness while cooking the beef to thicken it up.  Well, it didn’t really thicken anything up in my case (I also might not have done it correctly though), but boy did it ever smell and taste delicious!  Try it for real! Oh, I also added mushrooms and onions to the beef (not the carrots and peas).  Also, my pie was built like so (in case you didn’t figure it out already!) : bottom layer was beef, then corn, then mashed potatoes! (Just like Dad used to make!)

4.  It’s really hard to mess this up! 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Alright.  That’s it for tonight.  And yes, I do know it isn’t Monday any longer, but I started writing this last night in hopes of making it before midnight and didn’t get it done!  Deal with it!

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, What's for Dinner

2 responses to “MondayMeals- Shepard’s Pie

  1. Yummy! I’m a big fan of Guinness in anything 🙂 Shepherd’s pie with sweet potatoes on top is a nice switch up too!

Leave a Reply

