Book #1 (well ok, if you’re keeping track it is actually book #2)

Alright, my first OFFICIAL book off the top 100 book list that I chose to read (other than the Magician’s Nephew which I did in fact read, but didn’t continue on with the rest of the series which I had totally intended to do!) is….

DRUMROLL PLEASE!….

.

.

.

.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupery!

Illustration by Antoine de Saint Exupery. (no copyright infringement intended!)

I really enjoyed it.  It was short, but insightful.  Realistic in a sad way too I think.  Perhaps that was the point. 

I kept wondering how the Little Prince was making it from planet to planet, then when he said how he was to return to his home I was depressed.  There is an illustration of him with ropes tied to birds in the beginning of the book.  Perhaps that was one way he travelled.  I hope so.  He was such an innocent little character, yet a quick learner.  In the last chapter I was quite surprised at how wise he had become.

I’m glad I read it, but ready for the next book! 

(On a side note, the one thing I really disliked in highschool was the aftermath of reading a novel/poem- dissecting word for word, and wrenching all the symbolism out and onto the table.  I will NOT go into great detail in my blog posts, BUT those of you who were excited to read with me, if you want to discuss something- COMMENT!  We’ll discuss it! 🙂  I just don’t want to be the one to start the discussions.)

Alright, so I’m onto a “my choice book”.  I forget what it’s called at the moment, but it’s supposed to be good.  Something about a book club in Guernsey…does that make sense?  Does anyone know if I’m close? 😛

Any suggestions on what to read off the list next?  (Keep in mind I’m a fast reader!)

EFT out.

FYI- I googled it and it’s called “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society”.  Same difference.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Book #1 (well ok, if you’re keeping track it is actually book #2)

  1. Kristen

    Erin … “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” is an excellent book! I read it on Good Friday for a book club that I’m a part of 🙂

    I hope you like it as much as I did. Our next one is “Sing You Home” by Jodi Picoult which will be very controversial I’m sure.

    Keep up the blogging … Love following you.

    • Thanks so much Kristen! 🙂 I actually ended up fitting in Something Borrowed as a reread first…. I wanted to refresh my mind before seeing the movie! I’m starting it tonight though!

  2. Jose

    Erin,

    Sydney also read that Guernsey book and it actually was one of the things that she says helped her get through the crap we went through a few years ago.

    On another note….I’m sure you’ve seen this before right?

  3. Jose- I didn’t think I’d even seen it, then when I started watching, and found myself singing along to the theme, I realized I clearly had! How did you remember this cartoon?!

Leave a Reply

